Rafts for nesting pelicans on the Skadar Lake are ready

Way to Montenegro
11.12.2017 14:16 3387 0 0
Yesterday, in the Skadar Lake National Park, a voluntary action was organized to build and repair rafts for nesting pelicans.

The event was attended by Nela Vešović Dubak from the state management of national parks, ornithologists Ondrej and Andrej Vizi, Bjanka Prakljačić NGO "Center for the Protection and Study of Birds", as well as Ema i Ben Heywood from the travel agency "Undiscovered Montenegro", who donated various equipment for restoration of old rafts.

The artificial platforms, which were updated on Sunday, were installed in the Skadar Lake National Park three years ago. They are made of natural materials, which further improve the conditions for nesting of this rare species of birds.

"Four rafts for nesting pelicans, which were installed 3 years ago, had to be repaired and restored, because the weight of last year's nests could have collapsed or rolled over," said Nela Vešović Dubak. She also added that the reconstruction of the rafts was done on time, as the pelicans had not yet started nesting. "The water level was very low for a long time and we could not approach the artificial platforms before, but today was the perfect day for this, just before the precipitation that was forecasted by the meteorological service of Montenegro," Vešović Dubak reported.

As announced by the representative of the Office of National Parks of Montenegro, video surveillance was again made and connected on rafts, which is of great importance for monitoring the vital activity and condition of this species of birds in real time, especially during nesting periods, and also helps to track poachers. "The video cameras will allow the protection service of Skadar Lake National Park to react quickly to any interference in the life of pelicans, especially during the most sensitive period for them, that is, during nesting and rearing of chicks," the National Park reported.

Pelicans are birds that nest exclusively on small islands. In previous years, it was the lack of natural nesting grounds, which disappeared due to the reconstruction of Skadar Lake and the flooding of some of its areas, which was the main reason why pelicans nested here in small quantities. That is why, recently, Montenegrin ornithologists began to install artificial platforms for the nesting of pelicans from natural materials on the Skadar Lake in order to increase their number.

At the beginning of May this year, in Skadar Lake, ornithologists registered the presence of 227 pelicans and 56 young individuals. This was an excellent result not only for Montenegro, but for the whole region as it represents record results for the number of pelicans over the past three decades.
 

+0 -0 Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter

en
Leave review

Rate the news by sharing with friends

Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.
Also view

More news from Montenegro

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK
Note
NOTES FOR TOURISTS
Download to GOOGLE PLAY
Download from GOOGLE PLAY

На Скадарском озере готовы плоты для гнездования пеликанов

Way to Montenegro
11.12.2017 14:16 3710 0 0
Вчера, в Национальном парке Скадарское озеро была организована добровольная акция по строительству и ремонту плотов для гнездования пеликанов.

В мероприятии приняли участие Nela Vešović Dubak из государственного управления национальными парками, орнитологи Ondrej и Andrej Vizi, Bjanka Prakljačić НПО "Центр по охране и изучению птиц", а также Ema i Ben Heywood из туристического агентства «Неоткрытая Черногория», которые пожертвовали различное оборудование для восстановления старых плотов.

Искусственные платформы, которые обновили в воскресенье, были установлены в Национальном парке Скадарское озеро еще три года назад. Они изготовлены из натуральных материалов, которые дополнительно улучшают условия для гнездования этого редкого вида птиц.
 
"Четыре плота для гнездования пеликанов, которые были установлены 3 года назад, необходимо было отремонтировать и восстановить. Всё дело в том, что из-за веса прошлогодних гнезд они могли разрушиться или перевернуться", сказала Nela Vešović Dubak. Также она добавила, что реконструкция плотов была выполнена вовремя, так как пеликаны еще не начали гнездиться. "Уровень воды долгое время был очень низким и мы не могли подойти к искусственным платформам раньше. Сегодня же был идеальный день для этого, как раз перед осадками, которые были спрогнозированы метеослужбой Черногории", сообщила Vešović Dubak. 

Как было объявлено представителем Управления Национальных парков Черногории, на плотах вновь сделано и подключено видеонаблюдение, которое имеет большое значение для мониторинга жизнедеятельности и состояния этого вида птиц в режиме реального времени, особенно в период гнездования, а также помогает отслеживать браконьеров. "Видеокамеры позволят службе охраны Национального парка Скадарское озеро быстро реагировать на любое вмешательство в жизнь пеликанов, особенно в наиболее чувствительный для них период, т.е. во время гнездования и воспитания птенцов", сообщили из Национального парка.

Пеликаны - птицы, которые гнездятся исключительно на небольших островах. В предыдущие годы именно отсутствие естественных мест для гнездования, которые исчезли из-за реконструкции Скадарского озера и затопления отдельных его районов, стало основной причиной почему пеликаны гнездились здесь в небольших количествах. Именно поэтому, в последнее время, черногорские орнитологи начали устанавливать на Скадарском озере искусственные платформы для гнездования пеликанов из натуральных материалов, чтобы увеличить их количество.

В начале мая этого года в НП Скадарское озеро орнитологи зарегистрировали присутствие 227 пеликанов и 56 молодых особей. Это был отличный результат не только для Черногории, но и всего региона в целом, поскольку представляет собой рекордные результаты по количеству пеликанов за последние три десятилетия.
 

+0 -0 Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter

ru
Оставить отзыв

Оцените новость, поделившись с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Еще больше новостей из Черногории

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ
Note
ТУРИСТУ НА ЗАМЕТКУ
Download to GOOGLE PLAY
Скачать в GOOGLE PLAY