Ulcinj

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0

Ulcinj is the southernmost city on the coast of Montenegro, in fact the last major city of Montenegro before bordering Albania. This city is the main one in the Ulcinska Riviera. The majority of the population of Ulcinj is made up of ethnic Albanians, almost 70% of the total population. Local residents mostly speak Albanian, and it becomes obvious already at the entrance to the city. All road signs and signs are duplicated from Montenegrin to Albanian. In summer this part of the coast is especially popular with the Albanian population from Kosovo. Ulcinj, perhaps the most colorful city among all Montenegrin resorts, in the atmosphere of this city there is something eastern.

History of the city.

The history of the city has more than a dozen centuries and explains many features and even strangeness of Ulcinj. For example, why are the minarets quietly neighbors with a typical European fortress. More than 2,500 years ago, the first Illyrian settlements appeared in this region, that is, in the Bronze Age, people already lived here. This is indirectly confirmed by archaeological finds near the village of Zogaj. Old Ulcinj was founded in V BC by Greek colonists from Kohida and called it Kohinium. Already in 163 BC the city was captured by the Roman Empire - it received a new name of Olcinium and even a certain independence. After the fall of Rome, the city, which by that time was the capital of pirates and slavers on the Adriatic, became part of the Byzantine Empire.

In 1183, the city was conquered by Stefan Neman, under which it became one of the prosperous shopping centers of the Adriatic coast. And already in 1356 Ulcinj together with other lands of the Zeta goes under the control of the Balsic dynasty.

However, the unique geographical position, features of the terrain and climate made it a desired prey for the conquerors, so the walls of the city were destroyed during the next attacks, and were strengthened by new owners. In 1423, Ulcin was captured the soldiers of the Venetian Republic, renamed it into Dulcinjo and transferred to Venetian Albania. During the Ottoman wars, Christians took refuge in the city.
In 1571, nevertheless, the Turks conquered Ulcinj and turned it into a powerful bastion to fight against Venice. This era of government lasted until the end of the XIX century, until, finally, in 1880, the city became a part of Montenegro.

Sights.

Take a walk from the main street of the city - Marshal Tito Boulevard to Hafiz Ali Ulcinaku Street, which will lead you to the sea through the historical center. The architecture of this street has strong oriental motifs. It is especially beautiful in the evening. Here there is a unique atmosphere, for example, the minaret of the main mosque Namazdiakh, built in 1828, and the clock tower erected in 1754.

After walking about 500 m, you will get to the fork. Go along the street to the left and you will go to the city beach. The Small beach offers an amazing view of the Old Town. The old town of Ulcinj (Stari Grad Uljcinj), like many others, suffered greatly during the last major earthquake in 1979, but most of it has already been restored. In the Old Town the city museum of Ulcinj is located. And from the observation deck you can make stunning photos of the city views, the sandy beach, houses and mosques towering above them.
Ulcinj
Lifehack: the cheapest fruits and vegetables are sold on the market in Ulcinj, and when the season of watermelons and melons begins, cheaper price you won’t find anywhere else in Montenegro.

Beaches.

The swimming season on the beaches of Ulcinj lasts longer than in the rest of Montenegro - usually from the end of April to early November. And most importantly, this area is famous for its endless sandy beaches:

  • Mala plaza - a sandy beach right by the walls of the Old Town;
  • Velika plaza - a sandy beach with black sand, with a length of 13 km, and the width of the coastline is up to 60 meters. To imagine that there is not enough space for someone is extremely difficult.
  • Ada Bojana is a nudist beach known all over the world, located on the "island", formed by the two hands of the delta of the Ada Bojana River, which flows from Skadar Lake. Thus, this beach is bathed from both sides by a river, and from the third one by Adriatic Sea. On the beach there is a large number of fish restaurants, which treat freshly caught fish from the river Ada Bojana.
  • Women's Beach (Zenska plaža) - the second largest nudist beach, about which there are legends that here it is possible to recover from infertility and improve female health.

Lifehack: in the afternoon on Velika plaža and Ada Bojana beaches a strong wind rises, so these beaches are ideal for windsurfing and kitesurfing lovers.

What to see in the vicinity of the city?

You can start studying the Riviera from the small resort village of Dobra Voda. It is surrounded by oak and olive groves and is known for its healing air.
Добра Вода
Not far from the city there is the village Kruce, which is famous for the beach "Valdanos" and the bay, which crashed deep into the land. One of the boundaries of the beach is a sheer rock of unusual white color. Next to the olive grove there is a huge auto camping.

On a small island near the Kruce there are the ruins of the ancient Roman city of Olcinium. On the north side of the island, the parts of the fortress walls are preserved, and behind them there are the remains of small buildings and the church of the 12th-13th centuries. Another famous area is the lighthouse on Cape Mendra, built in the 13th century. And functioning until now. Its keeper conducts free and interesting excursions to the lighthouse.

If botany attracts you more than history, take a stroll through the olive forest, where there are about 74,000 trees. It stretches for 5 km from the beach "Valdanos" to the city itself. Another miracle of nature located near Ulcinj - a glacial lake. The reservoir lies between the Rumija mountain and the Ada Boyana river and attracts many eco-tourism enthusiasts. This is not surprising, because in this place you can feel a complete union with nature, enjoy the silence and watch the birds, which are more than 240 species on the lake. The area of the water mirror is more than 360 hectares.

On the shore of the lake, near the village of Sas, there are the ruins of the medieval town Svac. The city was founded by the Byzantine emperor Justinian, at the beginning of the 6th century, and around 1183 was conquered by Stephen Nemanj. Svac was an independent city and even minted its own coin. It is true that in 1241 the city was razed to the ground by the Mongols, but by the efforts of Helena of Anjou it was restored by the end of the century. However, in 1575 the history of the city ended - there were only ruins left. In the northern part of Svac, near the gate, there is the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist, built in Romanesque style in 1300. Previously, this place was the older cathedral, probably destroyed by the Mongols in the middle of the VIII century. This is evidenced by the remains of an ancient masonry near its western wall. Archaeological excavations in the vicinity of Svac is going to be continued.

How to get to the city?

If you are planning a vacation in Ulcinj, then it's better to fly to Podgorica Airport. But to get to Ulcinj from Tivat will not be difficult either. You can order a taxi or use public transport. From Budva to Ulcinj, you can also get by bus, but it's better to travel by car, as in the surrounding area you can also see a lot of interesting things.

Hotels in Ulcinj.

Hotels in Ulcinj are ready to offer their guests accommodation of different levels. Quite large is the choice of modest hotels, designed for unassuming travelers. View all the offers you can by clicking on the link. Regardless of the cost of living, hospitality and cordiality are waiting for the guests of all hotels.

Picturesque, like almost all the coastal cities of Montenegro, Ulcinj has its own special appearance, its own special color. There are excellent beaches and the opportunity to enjoy a relaxing holiday and sunbathe on the biggest beach in Montenegro.


Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter


en
Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.

Excursion Type: Historical, Auto + walking, Sightseeing tour

Type of excursion: Individual

Excursion period: 10 hours

Excursion language: ME, RU

Excursion Type: Active vacation, Active vacation

Type of excursion: Active rest

Excursion period: 1 hour

Excursion language: EN, ME, RU

Liked the page, share it with your friends.

Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.
Also view

Yet more places and objects in Montenegto in the same category

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK

Улцинь

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Улцинь (Ulcinj) – самый южный город на побережье Черногории, фактически последний крупный город перед граничащей с Черногорией Албанией. Этот город главный в Улцинской ривьере. Большую часть населения города Улцинь составляют этнические албанцы, это практически 70% всего населения. Местные жители большей частью говорят на албанском языке, и это становится очевидно уже на подъезде к городу. Все дорожные знаки и указатели дублируются с черногорского на албанский язык. В летний период эта часть побережья особенно популярна у албанского населения из Косово. Улцинь, пожалуй, наиболее колоритный город среди всех черногорских курортов, в атмосфере этого города витает нечто восточное.
 
История города.
 
История города насчитывает не один десяток веков и объясняет многие особенности и даже странности Ульциня. Например, почему здесь минареты спокойно соседствуют с типичной европейской крепостью. Более 2500 лет назад в данном районе появились первые иллирийские поселения, то есть в бронзовом веке здесь уже жили люди. Это косвенно подтверждают археологические находки у поселка Зогай. Старый Ульцинь основали в V в до н. э. греческие колонисты из Кохиды и назвали его Кохиниум. Уже в 163 г. до н. э. город был захвачен Римской империей – он получил новое имя Олциниум и даже определенную самостоятельность.  После падения Рима город, ставший к тому времени столицей пиратов и работорговцев на Адриатике, вошел в состав Византийской империи.

В 1183 г. город завоевал Стефан Неманя, при котором он стал одним из процветающих торговых центров Адриатического побережья. А уже в 1356 г. Ульцин вместе с другими землями Зеты переходит под управление династии Балшичей.

Однако уникальное географическое положение, особенности рельефа и климата делали его желанной добычей для завоевателей, поэтому стены города то разрушались во время очередных нападений, то укреплялись новыми владельцами. В 1423 г. Ульцин захватили воины Венецианской республики, переименовали его в Дульсиньо и передали Венецианской Албании. Во время османских войн в городе укрывались христиане.
В 1571 г. турки все-таки завоевали Ульцинь и превратили его в мощный бастион для борьбы с Венецией. Эта эпоха правления длилась вплоть до конца XIX в., пока, наконец, в 1880 г. город окончательно не вошел в состав Черногории.
 
Достопримечательности.
 
Прогуляйтесь от главной улицы города – бульвару Маршала Тито до улицы Хафиз Али Улцинаку, которая через исторический центр приведет вас к морю. В архитектуре этой улицы сильны восточные мотивы. Особенно красива она вечером. Здесь царит неповторимая атмосфера, например, соседствуют минарет главной мечети Намаздиах, построенной в 1828 г., и часовая башня, возведенная в 1754 г.

Пройдя около 500 м, вы попадете к развилке. Двигайтесь по улице левее, и вы выйдете к городскому пляжу. С Малого пляжа открывается изумительный вид на Старый город. Старый город Улциня (Stari Grad Uljcinj), как и многие другие, очень пострадал во время последнего крупного землетрясения в 1979 году, но большую часть его уже восстановили. В Старом городе также располагается городской музей Улциня. А со смотровой площадки можно делать потрясающие фотографии видов города, песчаного пляжа, домов и возвышающихся над ними мечетями.
Ульцинь
Lifehack: самые дешевые фрукты и овощи продаются на рынке в Улцине, а когда начинается сезон арбузов и дынь, дешевле цен, чем на здешних прилавках, вы не найдете нигде больше в Черногории.

Пляжи.
 
Купальный сезон на пляжах Улциня длится дольше, чем в остальной части Черногории - обычно с конца апреля до начала ноября. А самое главное то, что этот район прославился своими бескрайними песчаными пляжами:
 
  • Мала плажа (Mala plaza) – песчаный пляж прямо у стен Старого города;
     
  • Велика плажа (Velika plaza) – песчаный пляж с черным песком, протяженностью 13 км, а ширина береговой линии здесь составляет до 60 метров. Представить, что здесь кому-то не хватит места, крайне сложно.
     
  • Ада Бояна (Ada Bojana) – известный на весь мир нудистский пляж, располагающийся на "острове", образованный двумя руками дельты реки Ада Бояна, которая вытекает из Скадарского озера. Таким образом, этот пляж с двух сторон омывается рекой, а с третьей Адриатическим морем. На берегу пляжа располагается большое количество рыбных ресторанов, в которых угощают свежевыловленной рыбой из реки Ada Bojana.
     
  • Женский пляж (Zenska plaža) – второй по величине нудистский пляж, о котором ходят легенды, что здесь возможно вылечится от бесплодия и поправить женское здоровье.

Lifehack: во второй половине дня на пляжах Velika plaža и Ada Bojana поднимается сильный ветер, поэтому эти пляжи идеально подходят для любителей виндсерфинга и кайтсерфинга.
 
Что посмотреть в окрестностях города?
 
Начать изучение ривьеры можно с небольшого курортного поселка Добра Вода. Он окружен дубовыми и оливковыми рощами и известен своим целебным воздухом.
Добра Вода
Не далеко от города находится поселок Круче, который знаменит пляжем "Валданос" и заливом, что глубоко врезался в сушу. Одна из границ пляжа – отвесная скала необыкновенного белого цвета. Рядом в оливковой роще есть огромный автокемпинг.

На небольшом островке возле круче находятся руины древнего римского города Олциниум. На северной стороне острова сохранились части крепостных стен, а за ними – остатки небольших зданий и церкви XII-XIII вв. Другая знаменитая местность – маяк на мысе Мендра, построенный в XIII в. и функционирующий до сих пор. Его смотритель проводит бесплатные и интересные экскурсии по маяку.

Если ботаника привлекает вас больше истории, прогуляйтесь по оливковому лесу, где произрастает порядка 74 000 деревьев. Он протянулся на 5 км от пляжа "Валданос" до самого города. Еще одно чудо природы расположенное вблизи Ульциня – ледниковое озеро. Водоем находится между горой Румия и рекой Ада Бояна и привлекает к себе множество любителей экотуризма. Это не удивительно, поскольку в этом месте можно ощутить полное единение с природой, насладится тишиной и понаблюдать за птицами, которых на озере обитает более 240 видов. Площадь водного зеркала – более 360 га.

На берегу озера, недалеко от селения Шас, находятся руины средневекового города Свач. Город был основан византийсим императором Юстинианом, в начале VI в., а около 1183 г. завоеван Стефаном Неманей. Свач был независимым городом и даже чеканил собственную монету. Правда в 1241 г. город сравняли с землей монголы, но усилиями Елены Анжуйской уже к концу столетия он был восстановлен. Однако в 1575 г. история города заканчивается – от него остались лишь руины. В северной части Свача, недалеко от ворот, расположен кафедральный собор Святого Иоанна Крестителя, построенный в романском стиле в 1300 г. Ранее на этом месте стоял более древний собор, вероятно разрушенный монголами в середине VIII в. Об этом свидетельствуют остатки древней кладки у его западной стены. Археологические раскопки в окрестностях Свача будут продолжены.

Как добраться до города?
 
Если вы планируете отдых именно в Ульцине, то лучше прилетать в аэропорт Подгорицы. Но добраться в Ульцин из Тивата тоже не составит труда. Можно заказать такси либо воспользоваться общественным транспортом.  Из Будвы до Ульциня тоже можно добраться на автобусе, но лучше путешествовать на автомобиле, поскольку в окрестностях тоже можно увидеть много интересного.   
 
Гостиницы города Улцинь готовы предложить своим гостям проживание самого разного уровня. Довольно велик выбор скромных отелей, рассчитанных на непритязательных путешественников. Посмотреть все предложения Вы можете перейдя по ссылке. Независимо от стоимости проживания, радушие и доброжелательность ждут постояльцев всех отелей.

Живописный, как и почти все прибрежные города Черногории, Ульцинь имеет своё особенное лицо, свой особенный колорит. Здесь отличные пляжи и возможность насладиться спокойным отдыхом и позагорать на самом большом пляже Черногории.

 

Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter


ru
Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

Тип экскурсии: Историческая, Aвто + Пешеходная, Обзорная

Вид экскурсии: Индивидуальная

Длительность экскурсии: 10 час.

Язык экскурсии: ME, RU

Тип экскурсии: Aктивный отдых, Aктивный отдых

Вид экскурсии: Активный отдых

Длительность экскурсии: 1 час

Язык экскурсии: EN, ME, RU

Понравилась станица, поделитесь с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Ещё больше мест и объектов Черногории в той же тематике

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ