5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Ulcinj
(view on map)

The Old town of Ulcinj is situated in the southern part of the Montenegrin coast and occupies a rather large area. It is well preserved and does not look like other ancient settlements of Montenegro: there is a peculiar atmosphere of the Middle Ages and surprisingly few people. You can get to the fortress through the gates located on the beach. To do this, you need to go along the embankment to the walls of the fortress and climb a small staircase.

The fortress of Ulcinj is on a hill, therefore from here the magnificent panorama of a seaside part of a city burst upon the eye. The thickness of the fortress walls reaches 20 m, and in some places they are built by cyclopean masonry from large stones without gaps and fastening mortar. The fortress of Ulcinj has a rich history, and the proven facts are intertwined with fiction. For example, they say that at the end of the XVI century, after being captured by pirates for five years, famous Miguel de Cérantes lived here. Adherents of this theory connect the name of the heroine of his novel "Don Quixote" of Dulcinea del Toboso with the Venetian name of the city – Dulcigno. However, from the biography of the writer it is known that, having been taken into prison, he lived in Algeria.
Old town of Ulcinj in Montenegro
Walking along narrow streets to the northern part of the fortress, you will see the unique St. Mary's mosque-church, built in 1511. Initially it was a Catholic church. The oldest parts of this building are a door jamb and fragments of the western wall. From the Christian period, the Gothic rosette window above the main entrance and the edging of the archway have also been preserved. In some places under the limy coating of the facade you can see the remains of fresco painting of the 16th century. In 1693, the church was rebuilt into a mosque, one of the exits were immured, four windows were cut in the facade and a minaret was built.

Today there is the Museum of Local Lore. Among its exhibits there is an antique pedestal for sculpture with a carved dedication of the ancient Greek goddess of hunting Artemis V-IV BC. e., medallion depicting Artemis in the helmet, tools of the Bronze Age era, fragments of the church of the IX century and other artifacts. In front of the mosque church there is the Slave Square. On it in the XVII-XVIII centuries there was the largest market of the slave trade - pirates from Malta, Algeria and Tunisia sold here "live goods." 

At the highest point, next to the museum, is the Citadel, which was an important defensive structure, as well as the Balsic Tower. The tower was built in the first half of the XV century and for a long time was the tallest building in Ulcinj. Its name was received on behalf of the Serbian dynasty Balsice - here was their summer residence.

In the next two-story building, restored in the XX century there is the Ethnographic Museum. In its exposition there are objects of everyday life of almost all peoples who inhabited the surroundings of modern Ulcinj at different times: Illyrians, Greeks, Romans, Albanians and Montenegrins. At the entrance there is a fountain with drinking water, built by the Turks in 1779 and it’s still functioning.

The era of the Venetian Republic in Ulcinj is represented by only two palaces - the Chamber of Venice, built in the XV century as the residence of the governor, and the Balsic Yards of the XIV century. Now they are both converted into hotels, but the appearance has almost remained unchanged.
Palace Venice and the Balsic Yards in the Old town of Ulcinj
In the evening the fortress is highlighted, and numerous cozy restaurants and cafes are waiting for their guests.
 
What to see in the vicinity of the city?
 
To the west of the Old Town is the Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas, built in 1890 on the site of a medieval monastery. This is a very quiet place, from where you can see a beautiful view of the fortress walls. Near the church there is a picturesque grove of mighty olives and an old cemetery.

It is also recommended to explore the amazing shore of Ulcinj, riddled with small picturesque bays. This amazingly beautiful place is located to the east of the Small Beach, near the Hotel Albatros. You can get here by the road leading to the hotel, but not reaching it.

From the "Albatross" along the coast through the forest there is a path that ends at the canal. Behind it the Great Beach begins - the main attraction of the Ulcin Riviera. And although to go 2 km to it, you will not regret, because along the way you can enjoy beautiful scenery and swim in the place you like.
The Great Beach in Ulcinj, Montenegro
Lifehack: next to the beach hotel "Albatross" is the Women's Beach. It is believed that the local hydrogen sulphide source, volcanic sand and pine forest air create a special microclimate that has a beneficial effect on the reproductive system of women.
 
Hotels in Ulcinj
 
Hotels in Ulcinj are ready to offer their guests accommodation of different levels. Quite large is the choice of modest hotels, designed for unassuming travelers. But, regardless of the cost of living, hospitality and joy are waiting for the guests of all hotels. In the Old Town, too, there is where to live.

The doors of many cafes, restaurants and bars are open almost around the clock: they all work "to the last client". The menu is usually based on local products, very fresh and tasty. As in other seaside towns, there are many restaurants offering a wide variety of seafood dishes.

Picturesque, like almost all the coastal cities of Montenegro, Ulcinj has its own special face, its own special color. And the night illumination of streets in Ulcinj is considered the most bright and beautiful on all the coast.
 

Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter


en
Leave review

Excursion Type: Historical, Auto + walking, Sightseeing tour

Type of excursion: Individual

Excursion period: 10 hours

Excursion language: ME, RU

Like the page, share it with friends

Leave review

Also view

Yet more places and objects in Montenegto in the same category

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK
Note
NOTES FOR TOURISTS
Download to GOOGLE PLAY
Download from GOOGLE PLAY

Старый город Улцинь

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
 Старый город Ульциня занимает довольно большую площадь. Он хорошо сохранился и совсем не похож на другие древние поселения Черногории: здесь царит своеобразная атмосфера Средневековья и на удивление мало людей. Попасть в крепость можно через ворота, расположенные со стороны пляжа. Для этого нужно пройти по набережной до начала стен крепости и подняться по небольшой лестнице.
 Крепость находится на холме, поэтому отсюда открывается великолепная панорама приморской части города. Толщина крепостных стен достигает 20 м, а в некоторых местах они построены циклопической кладкой из крупных камней без зазоров и скрепляющего раствора. У крепости Ульциня богатая история, причем доказанные факты переплетаются с вымыслом. Например, рассказывают, что в конце XVI в. после пленения пиратами здесь пять лет проживал знаменитый Мигель де Серантес. Приверженцы этой теории связывают имя героини его романа "Дон Кихот" Дульсинеи Тобасской с венецианским названием города – Дульсиньо. Однако из биографии писателя известно, что, попав в плен, он жил в Алжире.
Ульцин
 Пройдя по узким улочкам в северную часть крепости, вы увидите уникальную церковь-мечеть Святой Марии, построенную в 15110 г. Изначально она была католическим храмом. Самые старые части этого здания – дверной косяк и фрагменты западной стены. От христианского периода также сохранились готическое окно-розетка над главным входом и обрамление арочного проема. В некоторых местах под известковым покрытием фасада можно увидеть остатки фресковой живописи XVI в. В 1693 г. церковь перестроили в мечеть, один из выходов замуровали, в фасаде прорубили четыре окна и пристроили минарет.
 Сегодня здесь расположен Краеведческий музей. Среди его экспонатов – античный пьедестал для скульптуры с высеченным посвящением древнегреческой богини охоты Артемида V-IV до н. э., медальон с изображением Артемиды в шлеме, орудия эпохи бронзового века, фрагменты церкви IX в. и другие артефакты.
Перед церковью-мечетью находится Невольничья площадь. На ней в XVII-XVIII вв. располагался крупнейший рынок работорговли – пираты с Мальты, Алжира и Туниса продавали здесь "живой товар".
 В наивысшей точке, рядом с музеем, расположена Цитадель, являвшаяся важным оборонительным сооружением, а также башня Балшича. Башня была построена в первой половине XV в. и долгое время являлась самым высоким зданием в Ульцине. Свое название она получила от имени сербской династии Балшичей – здесь располагалась их летняя резиденция.
В соседнем двухэтажном здании, отреставрированном в XX в. находится Этнографический музей. В его экспозиции представлены предметы быта практически всех народов, в разное время населявших окрестности современного Ульциня: иллирийцев, греков, римлян, албанцев и черногорцев. У входа расположен фонтан с питьевой водой, построенный турками в 1779 г. и функционирующий до сих пор.
 Эпоха Венецианской республики в Ульцине представлена всего двумя дворцами – это Палата Венеция, построенный в XV в. в качестве резиденции наместника, и Дворы Балшича – XIV в. Сейчас они оба переделаны в гостиницы, но внешний вид практически сохранился неизменным.
Старый Ульцин
Вечером крепость подсвечивается, а в ней располагаются в ожидании гостей многочисленные уютные рестораны и кафе.
 
Что посмотреть в окрестностях города
 Западнее Старого города находится православная церковь Святого Николы, построенная в 1890 г. на месте средневекового монастыря. Это очень тихое место, откуда открывается красивый вид на стены крепости. Рядом с церковью – живописная роща из могучих олив и старое кладбище.
 Рекомендуется также осмотреть изумительный берег Ульциня, изрезанный маленькими живописными бухтами. Это удивительной красоты место расположено восточнее Малого пляжа, вблизи отеля "Альбатрос". Попасть сюда можно по дороге ведущей к отелю, но не доходя до него.
 От "Альбатроса" вдоль побережья через лес идет дорожка, которая заканчивается у канала. За ним начинается Великий пляж – главная достопримечательность Ульцинской ривьеры. И хотя идти до него 2 км, вы не пожалеете, поскольку по дороге сможете насладиться прекрасными пейзажами и искупаться в приглянувшемся вам месте.
Великий пляж
Lifehack: рядом с пляжем отеля "Альбатрос" находится Женский пляж. Считается, что местный сероводородный источник, вулканический песок и воздух соснового бора создают особый микроклимат, оказывающий благотворное воздействие на репродуктивную систему женщин.
 
Отели
 Гостиницы Ульцина готовы предложить своим гостям проживание самого разного уровня. Довольно велик выбор скромных отелей, рассчитанных на непритязательных путешественников. Но, независимо от стоимости проживания, радушие и доброжелательность ждут постояльцев всех отелей. В самом Старом городе тоже есть где поселится.

Двери множества кафе, ресторанов и баров открыты практически круглосуточно: все они работают «до последнего клиента». Меню основано обычно на местных продуктах, очень свежих и вкусных. Как и в других приморских городах, здесь немало ресторанов, предлагающих широкий выбор блюд из морепродуктов.
Живописный, как и почти все прибрежные города Черногории, Ульцинь имеет своё особенное лицо, свой особенный колорит. А ночная иллюминация улиц в Ульцине считается самой яркой и красивой на всем побережье.


 

Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter


ru
Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

Тип экскурсии: Историческая, Aвто + Пешеходная, Обзорная

Вид экскурсии: Индивидуальная

Длительность экскурсии: 10 час.

Язык экскурсии: RU

Понравилась станица, поделитесь с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Ещё больше мест и объектов Черногории в той же тематике

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ