The Citadel - Fortress of Saint Mary

1.00 (1 votes )
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
1
Budva
(view on map)
The medieval fortress of St. Mary in Budva, also known as the Citadel, is one of the most monumental buildings of the Old City. Completely autonomous construction, in the past equipped with everything necessary in the event of a long siege, is considered an important monument of fortification architecture, which today plays the role of a popular tourist attraction and cultural and entertainment center.

In historical sources, the fortress of St. Mary was first mentioned in 1425. It was built to protect Budva from attacks from the sea in cases where the strength of ordinary city walls was no longer sufficient. Inside the bastion there was an arsenal and supplies of food, which made it possible to withstand successfully the long siege, and the multi-layered arrangement of fortress walls guaranteed the inaccessibility and strength of the Citadel.

The citadel is the keeper of the Budvanian history, located on the southern part of the rocky reef in the old Budva. The citadel was built in the beginning of 840, but, unfortunately, only the northern tower and the northern and eastern walls remained. But the buildings of the XV century: the buildings of the former barracks, the gates, fortress walls and the ruins of the Church of St. Mary, are perfectly preserved to this day. Two intertwined fish, in which, according to the legend, two lovers turned into two, thrown into the sea because their parents did not allow them to marry - are a symbol of Budva and adorn the bas-relief of the Citadel's wall. On the territory of the fortress (entrance to which costs 2 euros), there is a museum, a restaurant and an observation deck from which you can see all the beauties of Budva. Every year, the festival "Grad Theater" is held on its territory, during which various theatrical performances, exhibitions and concerts take place. During this period, the old town of Budva turns into a real city of art.

In the south-western part of the fortress there are luxurious residential apartments in three levels, and above there is an observation point from which you can see the whole city and the surrounding coast.
 

Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter


en
Leave review
1 reviews aboutTitle The Citadel - Fortress of Saint Mary
  1. comment

    Reply
    Sing in and all resourses
    of the site will be available for you.

    comment
    Admin

Liked the page, share it with your friends.

Leave review
Also view

Yet more places and objects in Montenegto in the same category

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK
Note
NOTES FOR TOURISTS
Download to GOOGLE PLAY
Download from GOOGLE PLAY

Цитадель - крепость Святой Марии

1.00 (1 оценка )
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
1
Средневековая крепость Святой Марии в Будве, также известная под именем Цитадели, является одним из самых монументальных строений Старого города. Полностью автономное сооружение, в прошлом оснащенное всем необходимым на случай долгой осады, считается важным памятником фортификационной архитектуры, который сегодня играет роль популярной туристической достопримечательности и культурно-развлекательного центра.

В исторических источниках крепость Святой Марии впервые упоминается в 1425 году. Она была построена для защиты Будвы от нападений со стороны моря в тех случаях, когда прочности обычных городских стен уже не хватало. Внутри бастиона располагался арсенал и запасы продовольствия, что позволяло успешно выдерживать долгую осаду неприятеля, а многослойное устройство крепостных стен гарантировало неприступность и прочность Цитадели.

Цитадель - хранительница Будванской истории, расположенная на южной части скалистого рифа в старой Будве. Построена цитадель еще в начале 840 года, но, к сожалению, от постройки остались только северная башня и северная и восточная стены. Зато постройки XV века: здания бывшей казармы, ворота, крепостные стены и руины церкви Святой Марии, прекрасно сохранились и до наших дней. Две переплетенные рыбки, в которые по легенде превратились двое влюбленных, сбросившиеся в море из-за того, что родители не разрешали им пожениться - являются символом Будвы и украшают барельеф стены Цитадели. На территории крепости (вход в которую стоит 2 евро), расположены музей, ресторан и смотровая площадка, из которой можно изведать все красоты Будвы. Также на ее территории каждый год проводится фестиваль «Град Театр», во время которого проходят различные театральные представления, выставки и концерты. В этот период, старый город Будвы превращается в настоящий город искусства.

В юго-западной части крепости расположены шикарные жилые апартаменты в трех уровнях, а наверху находится обзорная площадка, с которой можно увидеть весь город и окружающее его побережье.
 

Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter


ru
1 отзыв o Цитадель - крепость Святой Марии
Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
  1. comment

    Ответить
    Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
    доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

    comment
    Admin

Понравилась станица, поделитесь с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Ещё больше мест и объектов Черногории в той же тематике

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ