Female monastery Gospa Od Milo

5.00 (3 vote )
5
3
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Island Gospa od Milosrda
Ancient nunnery Our Lady of Mercy is situated on the island of the same name (Gospa do Milo) in the Bay of Kotor, not far from Tivat. Its name is translated as "Our Lady of Mercy" and that is the smallest island of three ones of archipelago in the Bay of Kotor, where also included the island of Saint Mark (Stradioti) and the Island of Flowers (peninsula Prevlaka).

At the monastery there are living cells, which are home to nuns, various household outbuildings, beautiful garden, as well as the Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The whole complex is surrounded by a wall of height 1.5 m.

In the monastery you can see the wooden statue of the Virgin Mary, made in the XIV century. It was cut by one of the hermit monks who founded the monastery of Célestins in 1479. The uniqueness of this miraculous figure is that the Virgin is represented in the image of a sitting pregnant woman, sticking rounded tummy by her arms. Here it is the eternal symbol of motherhood ... By giving, she is the patron of the monastery, so the island got its name Gospa od Milo, which means "Our Lady of Mercy."

The monastery was founded in 1479, and since 1524 it was owned by the Franciscan order. In the XVII century the island was sacked by the Turks, but later restored by forces of believers. The Franciscans stayed on the island until 1800, then the monastery was passed to Kotor bishop and Catholic priests settled here.

After the Second World War, the island was taken over by the state. He was passed to the Red Cross, which opened on its base a holiday home for childre. During this time, the entire monastery complex came to a strong decline. In 1967, the island and the monastery was returned to the diocese of Kotor, and here in 1973, restoration work began. Almost renovated complex in 1979 (before Easter) assumed the power of the strongest earthquakes in Montenegro and once again was destroyed almost to the ground.
In the end, somehow miraculously, it was managed to complete the extensive restoration of this beautiful building and now it is open to all comers.

Currently, the island with an ancient monastery complex, church and bell tower is one of the attractions of Tivat Bay. It is a classic example of ancient architecture of Montenegro and every year attracts many tourists from all over the world.

The monastery can be reached by boat by yourself, or with all kinds of group tours, tickets for which can be purchased in the tourist offices or on the waterfront of Tivat.
 

Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter


en
4 review aboutTitle Female monastery Gospa Od Milo
Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.
  1. comment

    Reply
    Sing in and all resourses
    of the site will be available for you.

  2. comment

    Reply
    Sing in and all resourses
    of the site will be available for you.

  3. comment

    Reply
    Sing in and all resourses
    of the site will be available for you.

  4. comment

    Reply
    Sing in and all resourses
    of the site will be available for you.

Liked the page, share it with your friends.

Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.
Also view

Yet more places and objects in Montenegto in the same category

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK

Женский монастырь Госпа од Мило

5.00 (3 оценки )
5
3
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Island Gospa od Milosrda
Древний женский монастырь Госпа од Мило расположен на одноименном острове Госпа од Мило (Госпа од Милосерда) в Боко-Которском заливе недалеко от города Тиват. Его название переводится как "Милосердная Богоматерь" и это меньший их трех островов архипелага в Бока-Которской бухте, куда также входят остров Святого Марка (Страдиоти) и остров Цветов (полуостров Превлака).

На территории монастыря расположены жилые кельи, в которых проживают монахини, различные хозяйственные пристройки, красивый сад, а также церковь Пресвятой Богородицы. Весь комплекс окружен стеной высотой 1,5 метра.

В обители можно увидеть деревянную статую Девы Марии, выполненную в XIV веке. Вырезал ее один из монахов-отшельников, основавший целестинский монастырь в 1479 г. Уникальность этой чудотворной фигуры заключается в том, что Богородица представлена в образе сидящей беременной женщины, придерживающей руками округлившийся животик. Вот он вечный символ материнства…По приданию, именно она является покровительницей монастыря, поэтому и остров получил своё название Госпа од Мило, что означает «Милосердная Богоматерь».

Монастырь был заложен в 1479 году, а с 1524 года он стал принадлежать францисканскому ордену. В XVII веке остров был разграблен турками, но позже восстановлен силами верующих. Францисканцы оставались на острове до 1800 года, после чего монастырь отошел которскому епископу и здесь поселились католические священники.

После Второй Мировой войны остров перешел в ведение государства. Его передали Красному кресту, который открыл на его базе детский дом отдыха. За это время весь монастырский комплекс пришел в сильный упадок. В 1967 году остров и монастырь вернули в состав которской епархии, и здесь в 1973 году начались восстановительные работы.Практически отреставрированный комплекс в 1979 году (накануне Пасхи) принял на себя всю мощь сильнейшего землетрясения в Черногориии в очередной раз былразрушен практически до основания. В итоге, каким-то чудесным образом,удалось завершить обширную реставрацию этого красивейшего строения и теперь он открыт для всех желающих.

В настоящее время остров с древним монастырским комплексом, церковью и колокольней является одной из достопримечательностей Тиватского залива. Он представляет собой классический образец старинной архитектуры Черногории и каждый год привлекают огромное количество туристов со всех стран мира.

До монастыря можно добраться как самостоятельно на лодке, так и всевозможными групповыми экскурсиями, билеты на которые можно приобрести в туристических конторах или на набережной Тивата.
 

Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter


ru
4 отзыва o Женский монастырь Госпа од Мило
Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
  1. comment

    Ответить
    Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
    доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

  2. comment

    Ответить
    Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
    доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

  3. comment

    Ответить
    Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
    доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

  4. comment

    Ответить
    Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
    доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

Понравилась станица, поделитесь с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Ещё больше мест и объектов Черногории в той же тематике

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ