Monastery Podmaine (Podostrog)

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Podmaine Monastery (serbian "Manastir Podmaine") - Orthodox monastery in the town of Budva, Montenegro, about 2.5 km from the old town of Budva. The monastery is also known as Podostrog. The monastery received its both names from its surroundings: Podostrog - the name of a nearby mountain Ostrog, under which it actually is, and Podmaine - from the nearby countryside Maina (formerly the tribe Maini lived here).

The monastery has a special importance for Montenegro, because in its walls, Metropolitan Petar II Petrovic Njegoš wrote his most famous literary work - "Mountain wreath", considered the greatest memorial of national Montenegrin literature.

The history of the monastery.

The exact time of the foundation of the monastery is unknown, but the legend is associated the foundation of the monastery with Nemanjic dynasty, who ruled these lands in the XII-XIV. According to legend, Saint Sava Serbian went on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land exact from this monastery in the XIII century.
A small stone church of the Assumption of Our Lady was built in the monastery in the XV century, which is preserved to this day. Based on available inscriptions in it, it was updated in 1630

In addition, the monastery served as the summer residence of Montenegrin metropolitans. In particular, the founder of the dynasty Petrovic-Njegos and Metropolitan Bishop Daniel often lived there. During his stay, the bridge to the right bank of the river was built. That bridge has survived till now.
Stone bridge in Budva over the river Grcevich, linking the monastery Podmayne (Podostrog) with a mill and a monastic house.
In 1718, according to Treaty of Passarowitz between Venice and Turkey, community area of Maini, along with the monastery was ceded to the Republic of Venice, but the monastery remained in the ownership of Montenegrin metropolitans. In the monastery the Metropolitan Bishop Daniel died on January 4, 1735 and was buried in the small Church of the Assumption.

In 1747, the Montenegrin Metropolitan Sawa Petrovic Njegos laid a new large main church of the Assumption of the Virgin. The church interior was decorated by the artist Raphael Risan Dimitrijevic. The ashes of Metropolitan Daniel were moved into a new church. In 1856, after the closure of the monastery, his remains were moved to the top of the Cross Orlov in Cetinje.

In 1797, the Venetian Republic fell. Its tenure in the Montenegrin seaside - the whole Bay of Kotor and Budva, were ceded to Austria. The Austrians wanted to seize the Podmaine Monastery, to turn it into a fortress, but the Popular Assembly convened by St. Peter of Cetinje, did not allow them to do that. Later, the Austrians asked the lord to sell Podmaine Monastery and Stanjevici and received this answer: "Fill the bare rocks of gold, and then you will not be able to buy me ... What we extracted with sword, we would not give up without it, even if only the heroic blood spilt to the knees".

Successor and nephew of St. Peter - a famous Montenegrin poet and Metropolitan Petar II Petrovic Njegos loved to live here, in a cell with a window to the sea. He built a large terrace with beautiful views of the Budva bay, the island of St. Nicholas, the old town of Budva, and on which he loved to walk when free minutes. Here he wrote his poem about the struggle for the freedom of the Montenegrins "Slobodiada" which devoted to Russian Crown Prince Alexander, the future Tsar Alexander II, and wrote some of his most famous poem "The Mountain Wreath".

In 1837, yielding to the pressure of the Austrians, to which the coastal area of Montenegro passed after the Napoleonic Wars, Peter II Petrovich was forced to sell them the monastery. The Austrians used the monastery complex as a military fort, a prison located in a small church.
In 50s of XIX century, a former monastery was bought for 5570 forints by a priest from the neighboring Main - Filip Tanovic, who supported the building of the monastery in relative safety. Father Philip tried to maintain order in the monastery buildings, and often traveled to Vienna and Russia to gain some help. A rich library of old printed books from Russia Father Philip sold to Vuk Karadzic, who took them away to Vienna.
In 1864 the monastery was badly damaged in fire, in which many monastic values were burnt.
In 1869, during the suppression of the Bokelskoje uprising, Austrians burnt the monastery again, and after that it was not restored.

The monastery remained as a property of the heirs of Tanovic until 1953, when it was nationalized (confiscated) by the state and until 1994 was run by the Institute of Protection of Monuments of Culture of Montenegro.

In 1979, during the terrible earthquake, the monastery buildings were destroyed, but later restored and painted. The monastery was re-opened in 1995.

There are two temples in the monastery now, both dedicated to the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin. A feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary has a special significance in the Serbian Orthodox Church. On this day in 1219 the Serbian Church became autocephalous, and St. Sava I (Rastko Nemanjic) became its first archbishop. Therefore, it is not surprising that many Serbian churches dedicated to this holiday.

The Great Temple of the Assumption was restored and repainted by Vladimir Kirishavich in late 1990 - 2000. It’s interesting, that in the scene of the Last Judgment icon painter has placed a Yugoslav communist leader Josip Broz Tito among the sinners in hell.

Little Church of the Assumption is of a very small size, located under the cells of the monastery and reminds catacomb churches of the first Christians. Its length is just 4 meters, width - 2.5 m, above the small church there is a terrace with a beautiful view of the sea.. In the middle of it there is a water tank - "bistierna", decorated with magnificent stone carvings.

Since February 2009, the abbot of the monastery is Raphael Bolevich (born 09/03/1975)

To reach the monastery you can on foot or by taxi (about 5 euros).

Every day in the monastery there is Matin at 5.00 am and evensong at 4.00 pm, liturgy on Sundays and holidays at 8.30. Broyanitsy are also sold there, they are beads made of knots on a strong twine, which resembles a bracelet. Decorate them the face of God’s mother. These bracelets can often be seen on the left wrist among local residents, regardless of their age and status.
 

Found a mistake. Highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter


en
Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.

Liked the page, share it with your friends.

Leave review
Sing in and all resourses
of the site will be available for you.
Also view

Yet more places and objects in Montenegto in the same category

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
HINTS ON WEBSITE
1
(Off)
Feedback
FEEDBACK

Монастырь Подмаине (Подострог)

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Монастырь Подмаине (серб. Манастир Подмаине - "Manastir Podmaine") — православный монастырь в городе Будва,Черногория примерно в 2,5 км от старого города Будвы. Монастырь также известен под названием Подострог (Podostrog). Оба названия монастырь получил от окружающей его местности: Подострог — от имени близлежащей горы Острог, под которой он собственно и находится, а Подмаине — от близлежащей местности Маина (ранее здесь обитало племя Maini).

Монастырь имеет для Черногории особое значение, так как в его стенах митрополит Петр II Петрович Негош написал свое самое известное литературное произведение — «Горский венец», считающееся величайшим памятником национальной черногорской литературы.
 
История монастыря.

Точное время основания монастыря неизвестно, но легенды связывают основание монастыря с династией Неманичей, правившей на этих землях в XII-XIV веках. По легенде, Святой Савва Сербский именно из этого монастыря в XIII веке отправился в паломничество на Святую Землю.
В XV веке в монастыре была построена небольшая каменная церковь Успения Богоматери, сохранившаяся и по сей день. По имеющейся в ней надписи, она была обновлена в 1630 г.

Помимо этого, монастырь являлся летней резиденцией черногорских митрополитов. В частности, в нём часто жил основатель династии Петровичей-Негошей митрополит ивладыка Даниил. При нём был построен кна правом берегу реки. Мост этот сохранился до нынешних времён.
Каменный мост в Будве через реку Грджевица, соединивший монастырь Подмайне (Подострог) с мельницей и монастырским домом.

В 1718 г., по Пожаревацкому миру Венеции и Турции, территория общины Маини вместе с монастырём отошла к Венецианской республике, но сам монастырь остался в собственности черногорских митрополитов. В монастыре владыка и митрополит Даниил умер 4 января 1735 г. и был похоронен в малой церкви Успения.
В 1747 году черногорский митрополит Савва Петрович Негош заложил новый большой главный храм Успения Богородицы. Интерьер церкви был украшен рисанским художником Рафаилом Димитриевичем. В новый храм перенесли и прах митрополита Даниила. В 1856 г, после закрытия монастыря, его прах был перенесён на вершину Орлова Креста в Цетине.
В 1797 г. пала Венецианская республика. Ее владения в черногорском приморье - вся Бока-Которская бухта и Будва, отошли к Австрии. Австрийцы хотели захватить монастырь Подмаина, чтобы превратить его в свою крепость, но народное вече, созванное Св. Петром Цетиньским, не позволило им этого сделать. Позднее австрийцы просили владыку продать монастыри Подмаина и Станевичи и получили такой ответ: «Засыпьте эти голые камни золотом, и тогда не удастся вам купить меня вашими деньгами... Что мы саблей добыли, то без сабли не отдадим, хоть бы до колен пролилась геройская кровь».

Преемник и племянник Св. Петра – знаменитый черногорский поэт и митрополит Петр II Петрович Негош очень любил жить здесь, в келье с окном на море. Он построил большую террасу, с которой открывается прекрасный вид на Будванский залив, остров Святого Николая, старый город Будва и по которой он любил прогуливаться в свободные минуты. Здесь он и написал свою поэму о борьбе черногорцев за свободу «Слободиада», которую посвятил русскому престолонаследнику Александру Николаевичу, будущему царю Александру II, а также написал часть своей самой знаменитой поэмы «Горный венец».
Терраса в монастыре Подмаине (Подострог), с которой открывается прекрасный вид на Будванский залив, остров Святого Николая, старый город Будва

В 1837 году, уступая давлению австрийцев, к которым приморские территории Черногории перешли после Наполеоновских войн, Пётр II Петрович был вынужден продать им монастырь. Австрийцы использовали монастырский комплекс в качестве военного укрепления, в малой церкви разместилась тюрьма.
В 50-е гг. XIX в. бывший монастырь за 5570 форинтов выкупил священник из соседних Маин - Филипп Танович, который поддерживал здания монастыря в относительной сохранности. Отец Филипп старался поддерживать монастырские здания в порядке, для чего часто ездил в Вену и в Россию за помощью. Богатую библиотеку старых печатных книг из России о. Филипп продал Вуку Караджичу, который увёз их в Вену.
В 1864 г. монастырь сильно пострадал от пожара, при котором сгорели многие монастырские ценности.
В 1869 г., при подавлении Бокельского восстания, австрийцы снова сожгли монастырь, и после этого он не восстанавливался.

Монастырь оставался в собственности наследников Тановича вплоть до 1953 года, когда был национализирован (конфискован) государством и до 1994 г. находился в ведении Института по защите памятников культуры Черногории.

В 1979 г., во время страшного землетрясения, монастырские здания были разрушены, но в дальнейшем реставрированы и расписаны. Монастырь был вновь открыт в 1995 году.

В монастыре сейчас два храма, при чем оба посвящены Успению Пресвятой Богородицы. Праздник Успения Пресвятой Богородицы имеет особое значение в Сербской Православной Церкви. В этот день, в 1219 г. Сербская Церковь стала автокефальной, а её первым архиепископом стал Св. Савва I (Растко Неманич). Поэтому, неудивительно, что многие сербские храмы посвящены этому празднику.

Большой храм Успения был реставрирован и заново расписан Владимиром Киришавичем в конце 1990-х — 2000 годах. Интересно, что в сцены Страшного Суда иконописец поместил среди грешников в аду югославского коммунистического лидера Иосипа Броз Тито.

Малая Успенская церковь очень небольших размеров, находится под монастырскими келиями и напоминает катакомбные церкви первых христиан. Её длина всего 4 метра, а ширина – 2,5 м. Над малой церковью находится терраса с прекрасным видом на море. В середине нее стоит цистерна с водой - «бистиерна», украшенная великолепной каменной резьбой.

С февраля 2009 года настоятелем монастыря является игумен Рафаил Болевич (род. 03.09.1975)

Добраться до монастыря можно пешком или на такси (около 5 евро).

Ежедневно в монастыре совершается утреня в 5.00 и вечеря в 16.00, литургия по воскресным и праздничным дням в 8.30. Здесь же продаются брояницы – это четки, сделанные из узелков на прочном шпагате, которые по виду напоминают браслет. Украшает их лик Божий Матери. Такие браслеты часто можно увидеть на левом запястье у местных жителей вне зависимости от их возраста и их статуса.
Брояницы – это четки, сделанные из узелков на прочном шпагате, которые по виду напоминают браслет.
 

Нашли ошибку в тексте. Выделите её и нажмите Ctrl + Enter


ru
Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!

Понравилась станица, поделитесь с друзьями

Оставить отзыв
Зарегистрируйтесь и получите
доступ ко всем возможностям сайта!
Смотрите также

Ещё больше мест и объектов Черногории в той же тематике

Вы начали регистрироваться через соц сеть
1
Notifi_Close
Notifi_ON
Notifi_OFF
ПОДСКАЗКИ
1
(Выкл)
Feedback
ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ